Tailord and client-centered approach to shared services success

Client Testimonials

 

We pride ourselves on our tailored and client-centered approach to transformation implementations and are committed to adding significant value to our clients through a partnership approach.  Our philosophy is to partner with our clients to ensure optimum suitability of the solution and to transfer our knowledge to their team and ensure that they own the project.

 

Matt Cagwin, Former Vice President – Strategic Finance Initiatives, Coca-Cola European Partners (Formerly Coca-Cola Enterprise)

The value Chazey Partners brought to the project was extremely important in the early design and building stages. They provided guidance, expertise, know-how, and a proven methodology, allowing us to focus our resources on executing the project plan and on the best end result. Chazey helped guide us through a challenging transition while up-skilling our own team based on their expertise.

Louise Lemon, Former President, NBISA and Deputy Minister, Department of Supply and Services, Government of New Brunswick

Chazey Partners was instrumental in helping the Government of New Brunswick to create, through a truly transformational process, the New Brunswick Internal Services Agency, a shared services agency providing payroll, accounts payable, information technology and other back-office services to Government.  Their coaching and knowledge transfer approach empowered our own employees and resources to focus their skills and efforts to transform ideas into action, inefficiencies into cost savings and duplication into well-documented, streamlined, value-added processes.

Their experience and expertise in shared services provided us with the confidence to surmount countless challenges that are inherent in the implementation of what was such a monumental task.  As a result, the Agency has not only generated cost savings but has introduced significant efficiencies and opportunities for further value added functionality that will benefit the province for years to come.

Matt Ford, Associate Director, HR Operations, Gilead Sciences, Inc.

We first engaged Chazey Partners on our Asia Hub initiative towards the end of 2013 when they were asked to perform a Location Analysis Study for the purpose of setting up a new Shared Services Center in the Asia Pacific Region.  This helped us to reach our decision to locate our new Human Resources (HR) Shared Service Centre (SSC) in Hong Kong. Then, in September 2014, we re-engaged Chazey Partners for the Business Case and Design of a new Human Resources Operations Hub to be located in Hong Kong.  Then we re-engaged Chazey Partners in early 2015 to assist us with the actual Build, Deployment and Stabilization of this new Human Resources Operations Hub, to be called “HR Answer Asia”.

In effect, we engaged and partnered with Chazey right through conception, business case, design, build, deploy and stabilize for our new Asia Hub.  The first phase transitioned support from North America and in-market activities for the Asia regional affiliates (Korea, Hong Kong, Taiwan, the People’s Republic of China (PRC), Singapore, Malaysia, and Thailand). HR Answer Asia went live for this initial phase on 24 August 2015 and was stabilized by 30 November 2015. The second phase transitioned support for Japan. This second phase went live 30 November 2015 and was stabilized in mid-February 2016.

We are delighted with our partnership with Chazey on this.  The Chazey team worked with myself, the HR and operational teams in both the US and Asia, and with senior management.  Their hands on approach, highly relevant and in depth experience, collaborative style and on site resources in both the US and Asia was a major contributor to our success.  Indeed the project has been so successful that we are now using it as a model for other projects globally, and holding this up as an example of “best practice”.

I would add that Chazey has been a key partner with Gilead Sciences for many years since 2008, and has assisted us with a number of other projects including reviewing and correcting certain issues with our finance Shared Services Center in Ireland, reviewing and optimizing the European human resources Shared Services center in Stockley Park, UK, the production of a detailed review, complete assessment and recommendations for the global finance function, including global FP&A, and support for the optimization of the worldwide finance operations (WFO) function.

Mark Braun, Chief Operating Officer, Board of Regents State of Iowa

Chazey Partners was engaged by the Iowa Board of Regents at a critical stage of our TIER (Transparent, Inclusive Efficiency Review) project. We had previously engaged another consulting firm to develop plans for our three major institutions (University of Iowa, Iowa State University and the University of Northern Iowa) for transformation of the Finance, Human Resources and Information Technology functions. Chazey was engaged to work with these three functions at a deeper level of analysis to validate the transformation opportunities and timelines. Chazey’s team of experienced practitioners proved to have a flexible, pragmatic working style with our diverse teams, resulting in validated opportunities on time and on budget. Additionally, by working cross-functionally, they provided a variety of insights that allowed us to avoid significant expenses and investment and better prioritize our initiatives.

Carlos Cayo, General Manager Shared Services, Gerdau Mexico

In 2011, Gerdau’s management made the decision to follow up on expanding its Shared Services model through the creation of a new Shared Service Center located in Mexico to provide services to 7 countries in Latin America and Spain. Given the broad scope of the project and the relative lack of first hand Shared Services experience, we decided to engage an outside partner. Chazey Partners was recruited and joined the LatAm SSO project team in October 2011 to offer support and guidance through the ensuing 18 months’ implementation. During this period, Chazey’s consultants worked closely with the project management team to develop a business case, present the benefits to country leaders, manage change communications, and guide the transition to fully operating Shared Services. Chazey’s practitioners were able to leverage their extensive experience, based on multiple global implementations, including Latin America. This gave the project team the confidence to successfully push ahead despite significant resistance and gain knowledge and methodology that we are still using to continue expanding the scope of our organization.

Richard J. Rowan, Jr., Director, Global Shared Services, TRW

Chazey Partners has been a trusted and valued strategic advisor on Shared Services to me and my TRW Automotive Shared Services Team since shortly after I assumed my role as Director, Global Shared Services for TRW Automotive in May 2003. The wealth of experience and knowledge related to Shared Services implementations and improvements that the team brings have been invaluable. Chazey Partners has assisted me and my team with projects in the U.S., Mexico and Europe – advising both on strategy and implementation, including staffing. I highly recommend Chazey Partners to provide valuable input and advice on all matters related to Shared Services.

Ann-Marie Massenberg, Former Chief of Staff, PSC, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

The Program Support Center (PSC), a function of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS), initially engaged with Chazey Partners to provide strategic whitepapers. and consulting on various shared services topics. This work evolved to the team providing educational sessions on our five service lines on metrics and industry standards. Their work included recommending a new Metrics Framework, focused on Key Performance Indicators. Chazey’s support and guidance allowed us to transform our interactions with our internal “customers” into a more productive engagement on an ongoing basis. This positioned us well for growing our services to new customers in the Federal government.

Andrea Seymour, Former Chief Operating Officer of New Brunswick Internal Services Agency, Government of New Brunswick

Critical to our success was the great partnership that we formed with the Chazey team.  By embedding Chazey staff into our GNB work groups we were able to create a collaborative and interactive relationship that was very different from a traditional vendor client arrangement.  Chazey’s team brought a depth of shared service knowledge, along with tactical expertise from multiple previous implementations that enhanced the approach developed by our GNB core team. This integration of teams allowed us to produce a dynamic GNB specific service strategy, based on best practices and world class implementation techniques.

Manolis Fafalios, Shared Services (Transition) Director, Coca-Cola Hellenic

In 2010 Coca- Cola Hellenic began a journey to fundamentally transform our Finance and HR operations through the use of Shared Services. In a remarkably quick time, our Business Services Organisation in Sofia, Bulgaria now manages a wide scope of Finance and HR processes across 22 countries. Based on the success of this, we are continuing to expand the scope and geographies of shared services. At the beginning, we were looking for a partner with the right expertise and successful track record who could teach us how to deliver on this important initiative. It was also critical that they would work with us as one team and adapt to our culture.  We chose Chazey Partners because they were able to demonstrate these attributes and also back up what they were telling us with very strong references.

Chazey are still working with us today. During this time they have not only demonstrated the attributes we were initially looking for, but they also provide other unique dimensions. Their approach is very hands-on and rooted in their deep experience as former practitioners and operational people. This leads to pragmatic and robust outcomes that works for us and avoids the pitfalls of a theoretical, template solution. In addition, the quality of Chazey people is such that their credibility is highly regarded right across the company and they are regarded as an integral part of the team. This has given us the assurance and confidence to adopt a pace of change we would not have otherwise considered achievable.

Franz Deitering, Head of SAP’s Global Shared Services division

Coca-Cola Hellenic is nearing the end of a four-year transition to multifunctional Shared Services Organization, a project supported across two distinct phases by SAP and Chazey Partners. Based in Sofia, Bulgaria, the new, 350-strong Business Services Organization is providing integrated Finance and HR services to 21 countries across Western, Central and Eastern Europe.  The Finance elements include AP, AR, GL, Fixed Assets, Period End Closing, Treasury and T&E (which was outsourced with the SSO roll-out). The HR elements include Organisational Management, Personnel Administration, Recruitment, Performance Management, Absence Management, Learning & Development, and a Centre of Expertise.

This transformation has benefitted CCH through standardised services delivered to diverse business units in a consistent, user-friendly manner; a “Governance and Service Management Framework”; exceptional productivity efficiencies; a considerable reduction in annual operating cost; selective BPO; and continuous improvement. The rapid deployment schedule called for tight program management and very effective change management support. The SAP Shared Services Framework (SSF) provided a platform for online communication between the countries and the BSO and end-to-end process automation, while Chazey Partners provided the Shared Services expertise for the strategy, design, change management and implementation.

Chazey’s team was invaluable in supporting this project, and we at SAP would highly recommend partnering with them for large-scale transformations of this kind.  We look forward to future opportunities to work together again.

Julian Hardy, VP, Global HR Operations, CA Technologies

Chazey Partners came to work with us when we consolidated our outsourced HR support from three locations to a single service center.  Providing program and change management guidance, Chazey Partners were very effective in making sure our transition project met its quality, time and cost objectives as well offering invaluable coaching support to the wider project team to make our efforts both developmental and transformational.  I would certainly work with Chazey Partners again and recommend their counsel to anyone about to embark on a shared services program.

George Hollinger, Vice President and Chief Information Officer, Agrium

Chazey Partners was engaged to conduct “as-is” assessment of our IT processes, structure, capabilities and service levels. The engagement started out with the purpose of validating that an IT transformation was in order and continued through to the creation of a proposed state and solid business case. I found the methodology used by Chazey to be thorough, providing excellent insight into efficiency, effectiveness and consistency of our processes, how our value to our Organization was perceived by our business partners, and how our organizational structure was hindering us from achieving the level of service required by our growing business.

Les Gill , Senior Director, HR Shared Services, Gilead Sciences, Inc.

Chazey Partners was invited to perform a Location Analysis Study for Gilead Sciences Inc in late 2013, focused on the Asia-Pacific region. The intent of the study was to prioritize a shortlist of potential locations for a shared service center in in Asia.  We were impressed by the Chazey team’s responsiveness and professionalism in reacting and managing this assignment at very short notice and with highly restricted timelines.  The Study Report we received clearly reflected their depth of first-hand experience and knowledge. In addition, the quality of insight they brought to the assignment resulted in a Study Report which was clear, comprehensive and put us in a position to make a decision on a very sound base. They delivered what we required within very demanding timelines.

Mike Rescoe, Former Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, Travelport

The team’s knowledge, experience, passion and commitment to adding value has been fantastic, as has the partnership approach working with a range of key internal stakeholders. I would highly recommend the Chazey team for any Shared Services or Finance Transformation assignment.

Nick Bean, Director of Shared Services, Greene King

The Chazey team advised me and my team from inception and throughout the whole implementation of a multifunctional Shared Services Centre into May Gurney, a mid-sized infrastructure services company based in the UK. Chazey Partners has some excellent methodology which is clearly based on a wealth of experience. The Chazey team supported us to produce a business case for Shared Services from when we first embarked on our journey to implement Shared Services.

Their structured approach and step by step methodology ensured that the business was engaged in the process resulting in a business case presentation including a comprehensive implementation plan as well as the financial modeling which was approved by the board on the day of presentation. The level of board sponsorship was excellent. Once the business case was approved Chazey Partners provided change management, project management and business process analysts that became an integral part of my project team.

The Chazey team were extremely dedicated and passionate to see the project succeed and for May Gurney to reap the benefits of a well designed Shared Services model. The level of Chazey resources were planned to diminish as the implementation got closer to completion which meant it was essential for my ongoing Shared Services team to become self sufficient. Their support and coaching of my management team through the transition proved to be invaluable.

I feel that the advice offered by Chazey was first class which has led to the successful implementation of Shared Services into May Gurney. I would not hesitate to re-engage Chazey Partners on any future Shared Services projects.

David Bell, Former Corporate Controller, FormFactor

The Chazey Partners team was engaged by FormFactor in 2009 to assist with a global Shared Services and supporting business process optimization program. This included optimizing many of its end to end processes (Procure-to-Pay, Order-to-Cash, Record-to-Report, Payroll, and Fixed Assets) and also actively supporting the very successful establishment and stabilization of its new offshore Shared Services Center in Singapore.

The Chazey methodology and flexible approach has been very valuable to FormFactor. All of the Chazey team brought significant operational, practical experience and expertise and worked as our partners. The team’s guidance and counsel have also been invaluable to me and the team. I would highly recommend Chazey Partners for any Shared Services related project.

Donna Lommer, VP Residential Services & Chief Financial Officer, Interior Health

Chazey Partners was engaged in February 2012 to develop a business case for the integration of the payroll and human resources employee services (compensation, benefits, internal recruitment) departments of Interior Health and Northern Health. For the past eight months, Interior Health and Northern Health have shared the same instance of Meditech business systems. Chazey Partners acted as an independent authority to advise the project’s executive steering committee on how to leverage this common system to improve services and reduce costs.

The governance of this project was complex, in that Chazey Partners’ team had to support two separate legal entities with different requirements and culture. The availability of internal project resources was a challenge at times. The steering committee also directed Chazey Partners to expand their scope of work to a more detailed analysis than is typical at the business case stage in order to satisfy all the needs of stakeholders.

Through all these issues Chazey Partners was professional, accommodating, and committed. The result was a quality report that will guide decision making for Interior Health and Northern Health as we look to increase the efficiency and effectiveness of our back office functions. I would personally recommend Chazey Partners from my own experience.

Karim Samra, Former Latin America Business Processes Director, Bridgestone

In October 2010, we engaged Chazey Partners to lead an Assessment, Feasibility Analysis, Location Analysis and comprehensive Business case to transition all of Bridgestone Latin America’s countries of operation into a new Shared Services Model, supported from a new Shared Services Center. As a result of this analysis, our company made the decision to move to Shared Services, with the new Shared Services Centre to be based in San Jose, Costa Rica, supporting 7 countries across Latin America.

The entire Chazey Partners team produced a comprehensive analysis that has allowed us to justify implementing Shared Services and to “sell” this idea to key internal stakeholders.  Chazey Partners not only effectively completed their deliverables on time and to budget, but also challenged our internal view when needed.  I would without hesitation recommend Chazey Partners to provide Shared Services consulting advice and support, as they are highly experienced professionals who have actually implemented and run multi-country, multi-functional, Shared Services in Latin America, and globally.

Maria del Pilar Guzmán, Global Services Center Corporate Director, Belcorp

The Chazey team carried out an assessment of our processes and organization. The purpose was to produce a Transformation Plan to help us become a best in class Shared Service in Latin America. Their structured approach and step by step methodology ensured a complete analysis of our end to end processes in order to identify opportunities for optimization and simplification. They partnered very well with different levels of our organization and worked together as a single team in order to achieve the best solutions. The Chazey team also brought significant experience and expertise to our operation, challenging our internal view but in a manner that fully respected our thoughts and business concerns. I would highly recommend Chazey Partners for any Shared Services project.

Jorge Eduardo Hernandez Moreno, Shared Services Director, Group Aeromexico
Jorge Eduardo Hernandez Moreno, Director del Centro de Servicios Compartidos, Groupo Aeromexico

The implementation of a shared services center in Grupo Aeromexico represented a great challenge for our business units and employees, as it involved the review of our processes and a complete redefinition of the way we were operating. Doing so with Chazey Partners’ support gave us an advantage, because they understood every moment of our project and with their methodology we were guided in the best way, giving clarity of the change in the business to our top management.

La implementación de un centro de servicios compartidos en Grupo Aeromexico, representó un gran desafío para nuestras empresas y para los colaboradores, ya que implicó la revisión de procesos y redefinición de nuestra forma de operar. El haberlo hecho con el acompañamiento de Chazey Partners fue un aliciente, porque entendieron cada momento de nuestro proyecto y con su metodología, nos orientaron para enfrentarlo de la mejor manera, dando claridad a la Alta Dirección del cambio que estaba ocurriendo en el Negocio.

Gabriela Lopez Juarez, Global Business Services Director, Grupo Bimbo

In March 2013, we engaged Chazey Partners to become our strategic consulting advisor to provide specialized consulting support to assess and provide recommendations on several key initiatives that will help our Shared Service organization achieve our long term strategic goals. The initiatives included optimizing many of our end to end processes, assessing the level of use of our ERP System (Oracle), redesigning our organization, identifying best in class practices to enhance our Service Management framework as well as identifying other opportunities to optimize our operational cost. Through the development of a business case and implementation plan, they provided us the guidance we need to provide higher focus on customer service, achieve process standardization and simplification and evolve into a high performing shared services operation.

The Chazey methodology and knowledge has been very valuable to Bimbo. The team’s approach, experience, passion and commitment to adding value has been fantastic and the partnership approach working with a range of key internal stakeholders within our organization was very important during the project. I would highly recommend the Chazey team for any Shared Services Transformation assignment.

View all our clients and how we have helped them

View our core services